every pastor’s fantasy

from a recent article in the baltimore sun…

Baltimore was buzzing Tuesday after a struggling parish received a winning lottery ticket in the collection plate — giving the church a $30,000 windfall.

Maryland Lottery officials confirmed the anonymous donation, made on March 13 with a scratch-off ticket, but refused to reveal the lucky church.

The ticket cost $3 and the pastor told lottery officials he had no idea who put it in the collection plate.

“I’m not too familiar with these tickets,” the pastor said in a statement released by Maryland Lottery.

“I asked somebody if it was a winner. The response was ‘It looks like it’s a winner to me.’

“I have no idea who did this. I really have no clue.”

The 55-year-old pastor said the church had been experiencing financial difficulties, and will use the money with operating expenses, but he also hopes to give some back to the people.

“We have a lot of people in need,” he said.

“Hopefully, we can give some back, especially since this is the way we received it.”

here’s my question: was god behind this windfall?  and, if so, why wasn’t the ticket for the 150 million dollar powerball, rather than the 30k scratcher?  did the pastor have a little faith, but just not enough?

4 thoughts on “every pastor’s fantasy

  1. was God behind this windfall? i don’t know.

    but what i do know is that i wish instead of the pastor saying he was unfamiliar with lottery tickets, he would have gone on and on about how he’s been scratching off 50 tickets a week for 20 years with money from the collection plate. and that he’s glad it finally paid off.

    i’m not sure what that says about me. it’s not that i wish he wasted the church’s money. i think i just like hearing things you’d not expect. but of course this guy’s never seen a lottery ticket before.

  2. over simplified response to your post….we have been given everything we need to live a Godly life…to me it take the same amount of faith to believe for the 150 million dollar ticket as the 30K….God has given me all I need………

  3. The first thing that came to my mind is Proverbs 30.7-9: Two things I ask of you; deny them not to me before I die: Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the LORD?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.

Leave a Reply

