he made himself helpless

there are many elements of the christmas story that amaze me.  but it messes up my mind to consider that the king of the universe chose (stop and consider that word: chose) to make himself completely helpless.  i mean, he was the epitome of power and authority and he resolved to become a human.

lower than that…a poor person.

lower than that…a poor person’s child.

lower than that…wait, what could be lower than that?

when matthew set out to explain the mystery of the christmas story (what a task!), he wrote something very compelling.  check it out…

This is how the birth of Jesus the Messiah came about: His mother Mary was pledged to be married to Joseph, but before they came together, she was found to be pregnant through the Holy Spirit. (Matthew 1:18)

as a bible teacher, i want to explain to my people what it means that, “she was found to be pregnant through the Holy Spirit.”  i’m not talking about the logistics of it, or the physiology…i just want to understand what it means so i can explain it to a room full of curious people.  well, i can’t.  i don’t know what it means.

what i do know, though, is that jesus came to earth at that moment.

the moment mary conceived, the incarnation had taken place.  that was the exact moment that jesus left heaven and entered our realm.  before he was a baby in a manger, jesus was an embryo growing in the womb of a teenager who had no health insurance, no social standing, and no civil rights.  can you think of anything more helpless, more dependent than a fetus? and jesus became helpless by his own volition.

what courage.  what compassion.

3 thoughts on “he made himself helpless

  1. Hi Randy, I’ve continued to read your blog but it’s been a long time since I posted. I guess I didn’t have anything to say. Anyway Just wanted you to know the pastor retreat center I spoke to you about a long time ago is finally opened. I would be honored if you could look at the web site and provide feedback. Sorry to use your posting for this update but I lost your email. Old age is soooooo sad.
    Thanks for keeping Christmas real. I do want to say, regarding a previous post, I often wear cuff links but now I feel guilty about. I haven’t worn a tie in years so hopefully that balances out.

Leave a Reply

