for those of us not perfect

my youth pastor, david, made a cool observation last weekend and shared it with our fellowship on sunday (in the interest of full disclosure, i tried to think of some way change the circumstances of this story so i could make it mine, but 1.) the lord convicted me, and 2.) i  just couldn’t figure out a way to adequately manipulate the details so i hereby officially give david credit).

david and jenny (david’s wife) took our kids to a statewide youth event over fall break.  during the worship time at one of the gatherings, david saw a lady take her handicapped child out of his wheelchair to hold him.  david described the poignant scene of this mother (whom one can assume has seen her share of difficulties) and her disabled adolescent (whom no one would blame if he felt sorry for himself) with hands raised, worshiping god together.  a very touching moment.

as it happens, david and jenny have a two-year old son and they are expecting a baby in the spring.

as david told us the story, he said that he and jenny have been fervently praying for a healthy baby.  david confessed to a touch of anxiety as he tried to imagine the pain of that mother.  but then god spoke to his heart.  i won’t try to quote david verbatim, but here is the essence of what he said…

i love my son more than anything in the world, but i don’t love him because he’s perfect…i love him because he’s mine.  as i watched that mother cuddle her crippled kid, i realized that god does not love me because i’m perfect…he loves me because i am his.

man, i wish that was my story.

7 thoughts on “for those of us not perfect

    • just because it happened AT the conference, does not mean it came FROM the conference. a minor issue, but one i felt i had to take.

      by the way, kevin, when are you re-launching your blog?

  1. Those are poignant moments.

    Have you ever asked the question why we perceive them to be poignant?

    Was it that a mother and a son worshiped God together? That they had a shared moment before their creator? Or was it because the boy was handicapped?

    “For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;”

    Jesus answered, “It was neither that this man sinned, nor his parents; but it was so that the works of God might be displayed in him.”

    The LORD said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes him mute or deaf, or seeing or blind? Is it not I, the LORD?”

    I am humbled by how often I judge what God has created to be less than it is.

    • wow. okay, tony, you are officially banned from commenting on my blog. you are just too deep for the rest of us (although i’m sure brett would disagree).

      seriously, that is a helpful and insightful perspective.

      • Call it a perspective from a dad who doesn’t want people to think that there is anything more special about his times with his disabled daughter over any other dad who takes time out to be with their abled-bodied daughter.

        We really are no more special than the other. We live one moment at a time. We recognize God’s goodness in whatever position He has deemed good for us.

        We also recognize that God was instrumental in our position and was purposeful about the design He had for our daughter, Lauren.

        I used to struggle with the thought that God allowed my daughter to be handicapped… but then I had to come to terms with the realization that He CREATED her that way. When I recognized that while I was judging her condition to be less than desirable I was also passing judgment on God’s sovereign ability to create as He chooses. Who am I to make that judgment against the King of kings?

        But then He showed me this… His finger prints are all over each of us. Our skin color, our sex, our height, and abundance or lack of hair. They way we are is one of the Blessings He has given us to glorify Him.

        The second greatest commandment is to love others as we love ourselves… how can we love others sufficiently if we don’t recognize God’s work in us first? And in each other?

        Are there truly ‘ugly’, ‘disabled’, or ‘unwanted’ in God’s creation? Or are those things our sinfulness being raised as labels?

        Would life have been easier for our daughter if she hadn’t been born with multiple handicaps? Maybe… I don’t know. I could as easily ask the question about a person born with black skin 200 years ago in America. Would their life had been easier had they been born with white skin? Again, I don’t know. When I make that judgment call, I put my self in the place of the One who does.

        In Psalm 139, David goes on to say that before One day had come to be that God had ordained all of the days of his life.

        God is in control. In circumstance, in creation, and in time.

        I think we should ban Brett from making any comments that make you and I look less insightful than we truly are .. 🙂

      • beautiful perspective, tony, and thank god for the grace he has given you and heather. and having met lauren, i can attest that she is one of those whose beauty shines through her circumstances. god “trusted” her with her handicap because he included such a beautiful spirit in her design. surely the grace of god is beyond reproval.

        like it or not, tony, you and lauren ARE special. i pray that the lord will strengthen and encourage you and your family as you exemplify grace in a world that needs it so desperately.

Leave a Reply

