a “broad” theological question

when i left my last ministry position to plant the church i am currently leading, i recommended my friend, ron, to the senior pastor as my successor on his staff.  i had known ron for years, and had great confidence in him.  ron was hired to follow me and did a great job in spite of the mess i’d left for him (we’ll save that for another post).

this all happened more than fifteen years ago.

earlier this week, ron’s wife was having surgery for breast cancer and i was sitting in the hospital waiting room with ron and a few other colleagues.  we seldom have the opportunity to gather in such a setting, and we were all taken aback by the grey goatees and expanding waistlines (that’s right, dear readers, i am overweight).  one of my buddies happen to mention that i had recently gotten a harley.  which prompted my dear friend, ron, to say, “so, did you get a fat boy”?

word of clarification:         “fat boy” is the unofficial designation of a harley-davidson model flstf (pictured at right).

further clarification:  ron is supposedly my friend.  and did i mention that i recommended him for a job?

so here is my thorny theological question, wise readers:  if i should ever find myself in a similar situation, am i within my rights as a christ-follower and christian minister to stand in the middle of a crowded hospital waiting room where unbelievers are undoubtedly present and loudly and prophetically rebuke said friend?  

the bible says i’m supposed to go to a brother who has offended me, so the probability of an ugly scene is fairly high.  therefore, i will be grateful for any and all opinions.

5 thoughts on “a “broad” theological question

  1. I have a friend that I have only known for about 2 months. We had become fast friends. One day last week he did something that thoroughly offended me. I felt anger, at him, and at the circumstances. After fuming for quite a bit I realized that following my anger to its logical conclusion would do no good, and I chose to accept what had happened. I then went to him and gently explained that he upset me and how he could have done things in a different way that would not have upset me. Then he apologized and I to him too, and we both then decided to put it in to the past.
    Agape is slow to anger and keeps no record of wrongs, I try to do that, though I fail at times.

Leave a Reply

