to tweet or not to tweet – part two

and so it begins.

yesterday i announced my intention to maintain my current position in the technology curve.  mind you, i’m not planning to drop out altogether, i’ve simply decided that i’m spending too much time learning how to use time-saving devices.  i’m going to use my cell phone to speak to people, not to text.  i have decided not to twitter.

david writes, “Thank God you didn’t ‘opt out’ at some previous other tech breakthroughs. i.e. The bathroom Ventilation fan. Altoids.”  but one doesn’t need to expend a great deal of intellectual energy to chew a breath mint, does one.   i just don’t want to learn any more new technologies.

but that is not really my issue.

scot mcknight wrote an insightful piece on this topic for out of ur and i recommend you read the entire article.  i was especially interested in these passages:

Pastors tweet quotes from their reading, and inform us of what they are reading. Sunday tweets tend to be gratitude tweets. We also regularly discover who is meeting with whom (and the “whom” is always a notch above the “who”), or where someone is traveling. We hear about accomplishments but almost never any failures or disappointments, making the Twitter world largely a happy face community.

So, let me ask pastors who tweet and who update their status a few simple questions: What do your updates tell us about what you are doing? About what is uppermost on your mind? About what is most important to you? It is time to take stock. Perhaps you are like me—using social media to draw the attention and time of others to something else. But where are we leading these folks? What do our links reveal about what is most important to us? About what is uppermost on our minds?

there is something inside me–and i think it’s quite real–that is ready and willing to do anything (and i use that word advisedly) to advance the kingdom.  but there’s no denying that there is also something inside me that will do anything (that word again) to get noticed.  to get affirmation.  to get accolades.  i honestly wonder whether my foray into the blogosphere has been more about my mission or my ego.

so if i were to commence twittering (tweeting?) who would “follow” me?  and how many?  and would the people who happened to follow me be the ones god has called me to reach?  and does it matter?  and (perhaps more importantly), given my capacity for destructive co-dependency and self-aggrandizement on a massive scale, would i be twittering for jesus or for me?  and how does one measure success if one is truly “twittering for jesus”?  in other words, would i be considered a twitter failure if no one followed me?  or could i consider my endeavor worthwhile if 100 followed me?  or 1000?  or as many as pete wilson (35,567 as of today)?

i want to be what jesus wants me to be.  period.  and if someone can show me how twitter might elevate that mission without distracting me from what is truly important, then i’m all ears.

and will twitter help me have fresh breath?

4 thoughts on “to tweet or not to tweet – part two

  1. Twitter is nothing more than a connection method. Are you pro connection? Do you feel that communication with your followers is fortuitous? (big word for me)

    I am going to assume that the answer to both of those were “yes.” Twitter enables you to send 140 character tidbits of profoundness to your followers. Followers are jokers like me who for some reason give a crap what you say.

    Let me be clear though, this doesn’t give you the right to over twitter. I don’t care what you are doing most of the time, but I would like to know if you “cussed at a lady in the drive through.” If you “fell down at work.” If you have “a prophesy for the immediate future.” That kind of stuff. NO BILLBOARD TALK. Nothing about knee-mail or Eternity- Smoking or NON.

    Most people on twitter have nothing to say. Some people though give you just the right amount of what is going on in their life to make it funny and interesting.

  2. I have a Christian Blog and I use twitter.There are probably alot of unsaved persons you could reach.I have two Christian Blogs.I remember when the internet first came out Christians were wondering if it was a great witnessing tool.I heard that alot of people have been saved in Cyberspace.I think that you should go for it.I believe that you could save alot of souls using Twitter.

  3. You are a pretty amazing writer with a lot to say. I don’t think you can work with 140 characters. Or maybe you could, but how challenging could it possibly be for your readers? Can you make me meditate long and hard on something when you’re only working with 140 characters? Maybe, I guess I prefer to come in to your office and say hi and hear your profound thoughts in person. Lucky me. Not all your readers live next door to your office.

  4. I agree with Jenny. We can barely get what we need to say into a text of 160 characters. How many life altering words can you squish into 140 characters? Besides, isn’t it another way of trying to replace personal, face to face, relationships by hiding behind technology. I think ‘christian’ blogging is good. It’s like reading a devotional, thought provoking, sometimes life changing. Same thing as reading a book for daily devotions, but alot fresher! What would you accomplish with Twitter that you aren’t already accomplishing on a much larger scale with your blog, Sunday teaching, Wednesday bible studies and most importantly, personal relationships? I think it would be a step backwards.

Leave a Reply

