the luke warm diaries – epilogue

my friend, david, has had a cataclysmic encounter with god.  if you’ve never been there, it is a terrifying, exhilarating thing.  if you want a little taste, read exodus 19.

anyway, dave did a couple of guests posts a few weeks back where he talked about his apathetic spiritual condition and he called them “the luke warm diaries.”  last night he sent me an update and invited me to post it here.  i hope it ministers to your spirit.

randy

 

September 1st, 2009 was a great day.  9/1/2009 marked the end of Lukewarm for me. Jesus came to me on a Southwest flight to Houston. 

 
HEAR THIS!!!!
 
Revelation 3 says that “you do not know that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked.”  Do you realize what this means? The millions of people going to church on Sunday that are doing God a favor by coming to church don’t even know that they are lost. It is hidden from them. To me this realization is one of the scariest things I have ever heard. It’s like having no feeling or self awareness. It’s like somebody coming up to you and saying “Hey man did you know that your left leg and arm are on fire?”  No!  I had no idea.  That is where lukewarm people are.  They don’t even know that they are AGAINST GOD.
 
All thanks be to Jesus, The Holy Spirit came to me in my seat and opened my eyes clearly to myself at 42,000 ft. Upon awareness I almost wanted to cover up. I became acutely aware of what I was doing to Jesus.  What I was doing to his grace.  The worst part, I wasn’t loving Jesus.  I was attempting to use Him to get things. Heaven was the goal, not Jesus.  The Spirit stayed with me the rest of the day even to my hotel room. That night I repented more and asked Jesus to make me clean. I also asked him to make me love him even more. 
 
Here is what happens when  you cry out to Jesus.  He meets you and pours out his love and tenderness. He says “It’s OK David. That is why I died on the cross. For you.  Because you needed me even though you weren’t born. Nobody had a chance unless I died for them.”
 
 If you think you might be Lukewarm about your faith but you aren’t sure, buy Francis Chan’s book Crazy Love.  All he does is collect verses from the Bible to measure you against. It’s effective.
 
 I leave you with this. Only two days matter. Today and Judgment Day.

 

Leave a Reply

