The Luke Warm Diaries – Part One

NOTE:  i am pleased to share this hallowed space with my good friend, david spotts.  thoughtful and hilariously funny at the same time, david is one of my oldest and dearest friends.  and here’s the best thing i can say about him: dave has something to say.  enjoy.

randy

 

Have you ever seen someone spew something out of their mouth?  Spewing is even stronger lingo than just saying your going to spit something out of your mouth. When you spew you have either ingested something that tastes totally unfit to eat or you have become sick on food that seemed okay but was actually rotten or spoiled and it has caused your body to reject it and therefore spew it out. It’s not a pretty sight.

In the scariest passage in the Bible, Jesus says to the Laodiceans in Revelation 3 that because your are Luke Warm for me I am going to spew you out of my mouth.  He says that he wished they were either hot or cold.  Why would he wish we were cold? Seems to me that Luke Warm would be better than out right cold but I would be wrong. The scary part for me is that I feel totally Luke Warm. I hate where I’m at. I sin too much. I question my repentance. I am largely ineffective as a representative of Jesus. The most telling indicator.  The world DOESN’T HATE ME.
 
The founding premise of this blog is that Heaven is our home. This life is about dying. This life is meant to be risked, not savored. I leave you with this.  
 
“Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come o set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household. Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. Ad whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” (Matthew 10:34-39 – ESV)
 
2 thoughts on “The Luke Warm Diaries – Part One

  1. I heard someone say recently, instead of us being worried about the world, the world should be worried about us.

  2. My wife has a bad habit of attempting to use me to test suspect food. If it smells like it will taste bad and it looks like it will taste bad, it is pushed my way to try it out. I invariably refuse since I don’t get the logic that I should be the ecoli filter for her.
    She doesn’t do that with food that looks good or smells good or that otherwise meets her criteria for consumption.
    This passage about spewing naturally led me to my next question. Why did it go in your mouth? Because everything appeared to be OK. It appeared to be the right temperature and it appeared to be something in which God would want to partake. Testing and trying it proved otherwise.

Leave a Reply

